The Ins and Outs of Seed Crisps

I can’t believe that it has been almost 5 months since I last posted, but I guess moving house, travelling for one job and doing another takes up a lot more time than planned.

I have been getting used to my new stove, so have spent time making more than just sweets. And then there is also the constant awareness that sweets on the stove invariably become grams on the hips, especially when you no longer have company in the house to blame share with, so making batches is to be carefully considered…

I will share future posts about some of the other bits I’ve created and learned about – wholewheat tortilla wraps, quick cheese muffins, really quick fudgy brownies, but this is just to reconnect and share just a little about the delicious Seed Crisps I made this past weekend.

Basically, irrespective of diet efforts, willpower and self-denial there comes a time when a girl needs something sweet. And at times, grapes or low-fat cocoa (suggestions made on various websites) just won’t cut it. Friday was such a time.

To meet myself halfway, I decided to go a healthier route than say, the Swiss or German chocolate I could really have devoured, and opted to make Seed Crisps. I used the Sesame Crisps recipe we enjoyed so much previously, and the only reason they were seed, rather than sesame, was that I had half a jar of mixed seeds for sprinkling over salads. I also used organic honey and brown sugar, which along with the mix of sesame, sunflower, pumpkin and little black (sorry, I have no idea what they are) seeds, provided the “healthier” outcome.

I only had enough seeds to make a half batch, which was also good from a sweet eating perspective, and this led to me to a very useful page on the Taste of Home website, which gives amounts required when cutting down a recipe, and also translates cups into number of tablespoons or teaspoons: http://www.tasteofhome.com/references/how-to-cut-down-recipes-or-decrease-servings. I have printed this page for my file, and recommend you do the same if you often change quantities – the result using their reduced quantities came out perfectly.

The process, though, was interesting in its own way.

I always have my front door open a little during the day, and Saturday was no different. I started making the crisps, and opened the organic honey I received as a moving-in gift. 20150504_170645 (450x800)

Less than 10 minutes passed when a bee came buzzing in the front door and raced to where I worked in the kitchen, before becoming frantic on the kitchen window. With one eye on the heating sugars, I lifted the blind and opened the window until she found her way out. Closing up, I returned to the stove, where it was almost time to place the thermometer in the melted mixture.

Hardly a minute passed before another bee buzzed in, following the path of her predecessor. One eye on the now bubbling mixture, I repeated the procedure to let her out.

The mixture needs to be constantly stirred, more so as this was only half the quantities, and I just settled in to my rhythm, when – you guessed it – another bee! At this point I didn’t want to leave the almost boiling mixture many more times, so I left the blind and window open, to ensure any other honey-seekers could leave as easily as they were arriving.20150501_115840 (800x450)

Having reached this agreement with the bees, I could continue to boil, stir, pour, smooth and shape the crisps in the tin, at which point I glanced at the open kitchen window…20150501_122329 (800x450)

…to meet the inquisitive eyes of a young gecko who had just made his way over the window frame and onto the windowsill, heading for the counter. The dustpan, a light touch with the hand broom, and I managed to give him a free ride back outside, where he belongs.

Both the honey jar and window were tightly closed after that!

Despite all the distractions, the Seed Crisps were absolutely delicious, and will definitely be made again. Probably with doors and windows closed.20150504_170503 (800x450)

[Oh – a coda to the “things that went where they weren’t supposed to”: Since making these, I have to replace my candy thermometer, as dish water got into it and also wrinkled the graded paper. Most interesting? There is no way to get the water out – no cracks, no holes, no leaks, and no result when shaken or tipped. So…if I cannot get the water out, how did it get in?]20150504_175725 (450x800)

2 responses to “The Ins and Outs of Seed Crisps

Leave a Reply

