Lemon Yoghurt Cake – So Easily Done and Dusted

After a couple of misfires with my last two ventures into the kitchen (Cream-based Fudge and Sweet Potato Chips – two less-than-successful experiments which I will share after enjoying this success for a little while), I am happy to be able to share this DELICIOUS (trust me the caps are warranted) easy to make moist Lemon Yoghurt Cake recipe, and how I go about making it (slightly different from the recipe).

The first time I tried this was years ago, using a recipe in an Alison Holt vegetarian recipe book. Unfortunately, all my recipe books are currently out of reach, so when I got a hankering for this cake, I trawled the internet and was very happy to find a recipe which seemed almost identical to the one I remember. The version I use now I found on bestrecipes.com.au.

My take on it is a little different:

I don’t use lemon rind, but add a couple more teaspoons of lemon juice (4-5 in total); I use fat-free yoghurt (every little bit helps, health and hip-wise, doesn’t it?); I use canola oil, as we only keep the healthier oils in the house; and, I don’t have a ring tin, so I use a well sprayed thick drinking glass (tumbler) in a standard round tin. I also find that the cake must bake for 50 minutes (not 30 as indicated in the bestrecipes version). So far, everyone who has tasted this cake has been full of praise (and, thanks to seconds and thirds,  full of cake!)

Ingredients

1¾ cup white sugar

¾ cup oil (as mentioned, I use canola)

2 eggs

2 teaspoons lemon juice (added initially, there will be more added later)????????????????????

½ teaspoon salt

1 cup plain yoghurt (I use fat-free. I’ve also used vanilla yoghurt, which worked equally well)

2-3 teaspoons lemon juice (I like to use 3 – without the rind I don’t think 2 makes it “lemony” enough)

2 cups self-raising flour

Icing sugar (for dusting)

Tools

20cm round baking tin

Smooth thick tall drinking glass/ whisky tumbler (thin glass will not bear the heat)

If you have a ring tin, use that instead

Non-stick spray

Large mixing bowl

Fork

Cup

Teaspoons

Cake cooler

Tea Strainer

Method

  1. Spray the tin very well with non-stick spray. Spray the whisky tumbler too, holding it with just fingertips, and place it in the middle of the tin.????????????????????????????????????????
  2. Make sure the shelf in your oven is low enough to allow the glass to fit in the oven without touching the element (probably second slot from bottom).
  3. Preheat the oven to 180C (350F).
  4. In the mixing bowl, add the sugar, oil, eggs and 2 teaspoons of lemon juice and mix with the fork until blended and smooth.????????????????????????????????????????
  5. Add the salt, yoghurt, 2-3 teaspoons of lemon juice and flour and mix well with the fork to combine.????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
  6. Pour gently into the sprayed tin. (Aim to get an even spread around the glass initially, it helps prevent the glass from moving off centre.)
  7. Once all the mixture is in the tin, re-centre the glass if it moved slightly – slide it into position without lifting.????????????????????
  8. Bake at 180C (350F) for 50 minutes – a cake tester should come out clean. (Note that the tester may come out with a slight wet look right next to the glass, this is as a result of the spray. Test in the middle and outer edges too – if the tester is clean here, the cake is done.)????????????????????
  9. Allow to cool for 20 – 30 minutes, then carefully remove the glass. (NBdo not allow the glass to come into contact with cool/ cold water until it has cooled completely. I have had a glass shatter by unthinkingly removing it from the warm cake and placing it in the sink where the water was barely tepid.)????????????????????
  10. Slide a knife carefully  around the edge to loosen the cake from the tin, and turn the cake out onto a cake cooler to cool completely. ????????????????????GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
  11. When the cake is completely cool, dust with icing sugar (A teaspoon and tea strainer work well for this).????????????????????????????????????????
  12. Indulge!GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
3 responses to “Lemon Yoghurt Cake – So Easily Done and Dusted

    • It really does come out light and fluffy, with just a hint of moisture in the middle. If you like lemon (and having peeked at your tarte au citron, I’m guessing you do!) definitely give this a try…

Leave a Reply

